Fostering the art of South Canterbury school children

About 200 students, parents, caregivers and teachers attended the ARTARAMA opening and prize giving at the Aigantighe on 13 August 2016 1:00pm. The supreme prize was awarded to Makikihi Primary School. See major prizes and awards here ....

ARTARAMA is a festival of student art displaying the paintings and drawings; prints and collage; and 3 dimensional works from 30 schools. The exhibition, now in its 27th year, runs from 13 to 28 August 2016.

See photo gallery here...
A news item from Stuff is here...

Instigated in 1979 by founding member Dick Logan, in conjunction with the Aigantighe Art Gallery, ARTARAMA has, for decades, consistently represented the artwork of thousands of year 1-13 students from our South Canterbury region. As well as promoting to the schools and donating prizes, our club supports the gallery staff with volunteers to hang and take down each year's exhibition.  Artworks are not sold as this is purely a community service and not a fundraiser.

ARTARAMA is also supported with prizes and awards from: The Friends of Aigantighe; Waihi School,  South Canterbury Art Society; ARA Polytechnic, and Warehouse Stationery.  


As well as 18 category prizes to the value of $1440 awarded by our club and 27 by the Aigantighe, special prizes included:

  • Dick Logan Memorial Prize presented by Robbie Jackson to Room 6 Barton Rural School

  • Waihi Cup for Boys' Excellence presented to Freddy Jones of St Joseph’s Primary School

  • The Friends of Aigantighe Award presented by Petra Poletti to Amelia Woodley of Geraldine High School

  • South Canterbury Art Society Prize - presented by Pauline Pulford to Jackson Prattley-Jones of Geraldine High School

  • ARA Polytechnic – presented by Mike Armstrong to:

    • Lily S of Pleasant Point Primary School (junior)

    • Toral Tailer of Craighead School (senior)

  • Teacher Award went to Heidi Lovatt of Opihi High School

  • Warehouse Stationery $50 prizes went to:

    • Tashana, Georgia, Alisha and Fuki of Mountain View High School

    • Grantea Downs

    • Harry Brokenshire of Bluestone Primary School

    • Waimataitai Primary School

A final prize was awarded to the Supreme Winner: Makikihi Primary School

The 3D work with which Room 6 Barton Rural won the Dick Logan Memorial Prize

Makikihi Primary School was the Supreme Winner

Room 6 Barton Rural Primary School - winners of the Richard Logan Memorial Prize.